Ends on

Landmarks Illinois is accepting nominations for the 2022 Landmarks Illinois Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Preservation Awards. The annual awards program honors outstanding preservation projects, individuals, organizations, and advocacy efforts that demonstrate a strong commitment to protecting the places that matter to the people and communities of Illinois. The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation has generously underwritten Landmarks Illinois’ annual preservation awards program since 1994.

All nominations will be considered for awards through the Landmarks Illinois Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Preservation Awards program. Award recipients will be honored at a public ceremony on November 4, 2022 in Chicago. Recipients receive a cash prize and custom-designed trophy. Details on the event will be announced at a later date.


Nominated projects must have been completed within the geographical boundaries of Illinois within the last five years. Phased projects may be considered if the nominated phase is complete and can stand on its own merits.


· Nominations may be submitted in someone’s honor and/or without the knowledge of the nominee

· Self-nominations will be accepted

· Nominations that were not selected for awards in a previous year may be revised and resubmitted, provided the five-year time limit has not been exceeded


Winners of the 2022 Landmarks Illinois Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Preservation Awards will be selected from the following categories:

ADVOCACY – An effective local or statewide campaign to preserve and protect a historic resource.

· Communication/Publications

· Community Effort/Grassroots Campaign

· Education/Programming

LEADERSHIP – Individual, municipality, private organization or joint partnership that has championed historic preservation, planning or public policy.

• Emerging Leader

• Professional

• Legislator

· Volunteer

· Lifetime Achievement

PRESERVATION – Projects that make possible the continued use of a historic commercial/industrial buildings, multi-family/affordable housing residences, public/institutional structures or preserves a cultural heritage site.

· Adaptive Use

· Cultural Heritage Conservation

· Rehabilitation

· Restoration

· Stabilization

· Stewardship

ENVIRONMENTAL SUSTAINABILITY – Mitigation of climate change through preservation technologies.

One of the selected winners will receive the Richard H. Driehaus Legacy Award, which honors the memory of the late Richard H. Driehaus. The recipient of this esteemed award must demonstrate the immense power of preservation, following in the footsteps of Driehaus who believed reusing places of our past creates positive change and motivates others to save important places.


Landmarks Illinois invites a jury of preservation professionals to review nominations for the Landmarks Illinois Richard H. Driehaus Preservation Awards. Landmarks Illinois strives to achieve balanced representation from various preservation disciplines throughout the state.

The nominees and projects that most closely emulate Landmarks Illinois’ values and Guiding Principles in preservation will receive the greatest consideration. Nominations are also judged on the following:

· Impact a project or person has had on an Illinois community

· Quality and degree of difficulty of the project

· Degree to which the project serves as an example of excellence in historic preservation and influences others

· Degree to which the project aligns with Landmarks Illinois’ mission of People Saving Places for People.

· Degree to which the project or person supports diversity, equity, inclusion, justice, and/or environmental sustainability

· Innovative solutions to preservation including, but not exclusive to: Creative partnerships or community engagement efforts, original programming, job creation or economic development, innovative adaptive reuse, best practices in sustainability or technologies that mitigate climate change, cultural sustainability or heritage conservation, and/or creative financing or funding sources


CONTACT: Suzanne Germann, Director of Reinvestment -- sgermann@landmarks.org

We use Submittable to accept and review our submissions.